Charles Fox Returns to the Motion Picture Academy Board of Governors – Billboard

Charles Fox, a noted film and television composer for more than half a century, will return to the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences after a hiatus.

Fox and frequent collaborator Norman Gimbel (died 2018) shared Oscar and Golden Globe nominations for Best Original Song for co-writing “Richard’s Window” from The Other Side of the Mountain (1975) and “Ready to Take a Chance Again.” “. from Dirty Play (1978). But his most famous composition is a non-movie song: “Killing Me Softly with His Song,” for which they won the 1973 Grammy for song of the year.



See the latest videos, charts and news

See the latest videos, charts and news

Fox, 81, received the BMI Richard Kirk Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in 1992. He was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2004.

The Academy announced its 2022-23 board of directors on Wednesday (June 22). Governors will be sworn in at the first scheduled board meeting of the new term. The new board is made up of 54% women, with 28% belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group, according to the Academy.

The 17 branches of the Academy are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to two three-year terms, followed by an enforced two-year hiatus, after which they may run for up to two additional three-year terms, for a maximum forever. 12 years old.

The other two Academy Governors representing the music branch, both mid-term, are Lesley Barber, best known for her music for Kenny Lonergan’s Manchester by the Sea, and Charles Bernstein, best known for music from the classics. of the genus A Nightmare. on Elm Street (the original) and Stephen King’s Cujo.

Composer Laura Karpman, who was the third governor representing the music branch, has completed her term. Karpman is a four-time Emmy winner for her scores.

The board of directors “establishes the strategic vision of the Academy, preserves the financial health of the organization and ensures the fulfillment of its mission,” according to the Academy.

Here is a list of everyone who was elected to the board for the first time:

Marlee Matlin, Actors Branch Richard Hicks, Casting Directors Branch Dion Beebe, Cinematographers Branch Jason Reitman, Directors Branch Chris Hegedus, Documentary Branch Nancy Richardson, Film Editors Branch Megan Colligan, Marketing & Relations Branch Jason Blum, Producer Branch Missy Parker, Production Design Branch Marlon West, Short Films & Animation Branch Peter Devlin, Sound Branch Paul Debevec, Visual Effects Branch These are the incumbent governors who were re-elected to the board: Ruth E. Carter, Costume Designers Branch Donna Gigliotti, Executives Branch Howard Berger, Makeup Artists Hairstylists Branch and Hairstylists Eric Roth, Writers Branch Returning to the board after a break: Charles Fox, Music Branch

They will join returning Governors Pam Abdy, Kate Amend, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Charles Bernstein, Susanne Bier, Jon Bloom, Gary C. Bourgeois, Rob Bredow, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Eduardo Castro, Bill Corso, Teri E Dorman, Tom Duffield, Ava DuVernay, Linda Flowers, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo Garcia, Whoopi Goldberg, Lynette Howell Taylor, Larry Karaszewski, Laura C. Kim, Christina Kounelias, David Linde, Isis Mussenden, Stephen Rivkin, Howard A. Rodman, Terilyn A Shropshire, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Wynn P. Thomas, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Mandy Walker, Rita Wilson, Janet Yang, and Debra Zane.

For a complete list of the current 2021-2022 Academy Governors, visit